junius on ukip

Exposing corruption in Nigel Farage's UKIP

Say No to the new UKIP Constitution!

Posted by juniusukip on February 22, 2012

The proposed UKIP constitution will give Nigel Farage – due to his control of the NEC – total control of the MEP lists. It will also give him the power turn UKIP into a pan-European party without the need to consult the membership. LINK

From: charles@myqualities.com
Subject: Say ‘No’ to the new Constitution
Date: 8 February 2012 15:05:24 GMT
To: ukip.partysecretary@gmail.com

 

Dear Party Secretary,

Thank you for your response. It would have been nice if the ‘Rules’ to which you refer had also been circulated to members.

However, as you know perfectly well mere ‘Rules of Procedure’ will always be inferior to the principal Constitutional document. If there is any conflict between the two, the Constitution will always prevail, as it so often does in the USA – where the Constitutional issue is always fought out in the final Court of Appeal.

Para B.5.1. of your Rules of Procedure allows branches to ‘nominate‘ candidates but not to decide. I believe that Regional Committees and Branches should have the ‘right to decide‘. Mere nomination to the NEC is a worthless prerogative for Regional and Branch committees because this Constitution transfers real powers of selection to the NEC.

I do not argue with your Paras S.15 to S.19 – but they make no difference to the central objection that the new Constitution cements the right of the NEC to determine who will be selected to represent UKIP in every region for Euro elections, and every constituency for Parliamentary and Local elections.

I regret to say that your response emphatically underlines my fears that UKIP Regional committees and Branch committees are no longer to be trusted to undertake the important role of selecting suitable candidates to represent the local community. Without trust you cannot expect the wholehearted support of grass root members to get behind their candidate. Without strong commited support at local level a candidate’s chance of election is dramatically impaired.

Yours sincerely,

Charles Swabey
Chairman
Central and South Derbyshire

From: Michael Greaves <ukip.partysecretary@gmail.com>
Subject: Const
Date: 8 February 2012 11:31:08 GMT
To: James Moyies <jamesm@ukipsouthend.co.uk>, JWebster <ukip@jwebster.plus.com>, clive broad <voteclivebroad@hotmail.co.uk>, T Comber <lynetteecomber@hotmail.com>, James Moyies <jamesm@thefmhub.com>, bill hall <billhall@onetel.com>, David Hughes <dnhughes@btinternet.com>, C J Everitt <c.j.everitt@btinternet.com>, Robert Edwards <salmonhutch@btinternet.com>, Rollo Reid <rollo@reidsteel.co.uk>, Pat Bryant <pat.bryant@ukonline.co.uk>, Mike Smith <mike.forthepound@yahoo.co.uk>, Bruce Robertson <bruce.robertson@trago.co.uk>, David Lucas Chairman <janddlucas@btinternet.com>, Andrew Mozley <andrew.mozley@btinternet.com>, Gaston Dezart <gastondezart@btinternet.com>, Brian Jones Chairman <brianandjanjones@hotmail.co.uk>, Gwyn Thomas <gwynb.thomas@googlemail.com>, Hugh Williams <hughmwilliams@tiscali.co.uk>, Barry Harding <tobh@harrynmargaret.com>, K Hickman <cresfarm@btconnect.com>, Jeff Mager <j.mager@btinternet.com>, Pat Vaid <ukipreception@ukipsw.org>, N Pearson <npearson777@btinternet.com>, Mike Thomas <metvenice@hotmail.com>, “njwellstead@hotmail.com” <njwellstead@hotmail.com>, Jeff Mager <jeffmager@talktalk.net>, Daryl Stanbury <daryl.stanbury@live.co.uk>, “metukip@hotmail.com” <metukip@hotmail.com>, frances howard <fmphoward@btinternet.com>, Barry <mistyharbour@tds.net>, “edmundjgerrard@hotmail.com” <edmundjgerrard@hotmail.com>, Paul Franklin <p.j.franklin@btinternet.com>, Howard Farmer at UKIP Whitstable-Canterbury <ukiphowardfarmer@hotmail.com>, Rob Shatwell <robertshatwell@yahoo.co.uk>, John Mac Canna <maccannaj@yahoo.com>, Victor Matcham <victormatcham@yahoo.com>, bernard collignon <ukip@collignon.co.uk>, Steve Richards <steve.richards@solent.ac.uk>, John Bentham <john.bentham@btinternet.com>, Stuart Aldridge <aldridges@home.3b.co.uk>, A P Hartfield <aphartfield@yahoo.co.uk>, MICHAEL FOULSTON <m.foulston@btinternet.com>, Ann Vasilesco <newforestwest@yahoo.co.uk>, paul williams <paul_pwl@yahoo.co.uk>, Ian Davison <iandukip@yahoo.co.uk>, T Shonk <shonkm@live.co.uk>, Mr A Stevens <awahstevens@talk21.com>, D Docker <juliedocker@msn.com>, rachel tingle <racheljtingle@gmail.com>, g gladwin <jueey@dsl.pipex.com>, Jacqueline Jones <wantageukip@yahoo.co.uk>, Mr K Woolven <kwoolven@btinternet.com>, helena windsor <helena@mycoplasma-exp.com>, N Jack <weljack@btinternet.com>, B Adams Chairman <chris@pogleswood.net>, peter price <marypricebowls@tiscali.com>, Ken Alderton <kenalderton@ukipeastbourne.org>, P Stewart <peterporcupine@tiscali.co.uk>, Chris Adams <mail@myukip.com>, Robert Snare <rtfs722@fsmail.net>, carol bowers <carolbowers@btinternet.com>, “awahstevens@yahoo.co.uk” <awahstevens@yahoo.co.uk>, “marcusellis41@yahoo.com” <marcusellis41@yahoo.com>, “Emmett Jenner (UKIP)” <emmett.jenner@ukip.org>, Fred Rolph <evenfred@btinternet.com>, j pontey <japontey@hotmail.com>, francis Day <francisday@uwclub.net>, John Moran <jdmassociates@talktalk.net>, sunita webb <lawrencejwebb@btinternet.com>, Michael McGough <michael.mcgough@lineone.net>, strachan mcdonald <admin@mlinetelecoms.com>, A Pandya <pandyaukip@gmail.com>, Magnus Nielsen <magnus_nielsen@hotmail.com>, Peter Dul <PJDul@btinternet.com>, mark mcaleer <markmcleer@hotmail.com>, John Stockton <j.stockton@ntlworld.com>, Jason Smith <trance-form@blueyonder.co.uk>, D Wilson Chairman <mix.messages@blueyonder.co.uk>, M Shaw Chairman <george@bss-york.co.uk>, jonathan Arnott <vote.jonathan@googlemail.com>, Warwick Nicholson <nicholson1_@tiscali.co.uk>, John Bufton <johnbufton@tiscali.co.uk>, Nick Powell <nick.powell@btinternet.com>, A Haigh Chairman <ceo@vitalox.co.uk>, Nathan Gill <nathan.gill@ukipwales.org>, kevin mahoney <vale@uwclub.net>, paul henke <paulhenke@gmx.com>, Peter Adams <ukipscotorg@btinternet.com>, I Wallace Chairman <andy@lovie.freeserve.co.uk>, Gordon Norrie <gordonnorrie@btinternet.com>, mike scott-hayward <mikescotthayward@msn.com>, John Rice <cllrjohnrice@hotmail.com>, s rush <ukip_ribblevalley@yahoo.co.uk>, Peter Lowe <ukip.lowe29@gmail.com>, Anthony Moore <t.moore36@sky.com>, Terry Durrance <duncet@yahoo.co.uk>, gary robinson <garyprv@hotmail.com>, John Cooke <johncooke65@googlemail.com>, Graham Pound <graham.pound@gmail.com>, v hope <vsh@cranmermemorial.org>, martin davies <mdjdavies@live.co.uk>, “steve.allison107@btinternet.com” <steve.allison107@btinternet.com>, john tennant <jtennant33@hotmail.com>, Christopher Pain <c.pain@virgin.net>, Matthew Faithfull <mfaithfull@btopenworld.com>, mike cruddas <michael.cmc@btinternet.com>, Derek Evans <derekjohnevans@mypostoffice.co.uk>, Marietta King <mariettaking@hotmail.com>, Adrian Haynes <haynes11@aol.com>, irena marriott <ukip_nottingham@live.co.uk>, Stephen Fowke <steve_fowke@live.co.uk>

Dear Fellow UKIP members
Thank you so much for writing in with your observations on the constitution.
I respectfully disagree with your proposition and urge you to vote “YES” to this new document which is so important for the future of the Party.
The proposition made is inaccurate as the new Constitution will NOT change candidate selection procedures.  The candidate selection procedures will be the same whether or not the Constitution is passed.
The relevant Rules permitting a Constituency Association to select from the Approved List are now within the Party’s Rules of Procedure, which states:
B.5.1 It is the responsibility of branches to seek to nominate candidates for parliamentary and local elections within the branch area, acting in accordance with the rules laid down in Sections R,S,T,U and V of the Rules of Procedure.
S.15 Only applicants on the national approved list may apply to a branch or Constituency Association for an adoption/hustings meeting.
S.16 Adoption/hustings meetings shall be advertised so that all candidates on the Approved List have the right to apply for selection in any constituency.
S.17 Constituency Associations or branches which fail to select candidates within the timescale in the PPC Selection Procedure may forfeit the right to select their candidates, with the responsibility being undertaken by the region.
S.18 Where there is more than one applicant in a given constituency, an open hustings meeting must be held in accordance with the PPC Selection Procedure.
S.19 In this event, the choice of candidate shall be made through a ballot in accordance with the PPC Selection Procedure.
I suggest that these provisions make clear that the effect suggested is not in fact the reality.
Yours sincerely
Michael Greaves
Party Secretary

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: